Highlights



On your visit in PS.SPEICHER, you will discover exciting stories, essential background information and key facts from the 130-year history of motorised transport. Here we provide a brief preview of the 300 vehicles (including two-, three- and four-wheelers) in our permanent exhibition.

Hildebrand & Wolfmüller

Power output (hp): 2,5 PS
Top speed (kph): 40 km/h
Production era: 1894 – 1896

The Hildebrand & Wolfmu?ller was the first two-wheeled motorised vehicle to be designated a ‘Motorrad’ (= motorcycle) in German. It also broke new ground in terms of series production and the use of pneumatic tyres. The drive principle, with power
being directly transferred to the rear wheel by the connecting rod, is reminiscent of steam engines and locomotives. Its unreliability and susceptibility to fire impeded the market success of the Hildebrand & Wolfmu?ller.
 

Victoria KR I

Power output (hp): 6,5 PS
Top speed (kph): 80 km/h
Production era: 1921 – 1922

During the First World War, Victoria supplied large quantities of bicycles to the military. In 1919, the company turned to motorcycle manufacture. The Victoria KR I took the British Douglas motorbike as a design model. Good workmanship and the high-quality BMW engine rapidly established Victoria in the highly competitive motorcycle market.


Triumph B 254

Power output (hp): 8,5 PS
Top speed (kph): 90 km/h
Production era: 1938 – 1939

Triumph also had to develop its own solutions for loop scavenging in order to build competitive two-stroke engines without breaching DKW’s patent rights. The first machine with Triumph’s own cross-flow loop scavenging was the 1936 B 200 which became the B 254 in 1938 with the change in driving licence regulations.
 

Glas Goggo 200

Power output (hp): 9,5 PS
Top speed (kph): 80 km/h
Production era: 1952 – 1956

The first German ‘Reiseroller’ (touring scooter) – and therefore the first of this new class of two-wheeler – was the Glas Goggo built by the Isaria agricultural machinery
factory in Dingolfing (Bavaria). With its electric starter motor and powerful 200 cc ILO engine, the Glas Goggo was suitable for long-distance touring.
 

MZ Skorpion Sport

Power output (hp): 48 PS
Top speed (kph): 175 km/h
Production era: 1994 – 1999

In 1992, a concept bike by British designers Seymour and Powell had attracted public attention. When it eventually appeared as the series production MZ Skorpion Sport in 1994, it turned out to be slightly less spectacular. The respectable Yamaha singlecylinder had to compete in a sporting environment and was slightly overweight at more than 170 kilos.
 

Benz Victoria

Power output (hp): 3 PS
Top speed (kph): 20 km/h
Production era: 1893 – 1900

Avid cyclist Carl Benz adopted chassis components and production technology from the bicycle industry for his patented motor car. He recognised that the middle-class buying public aspired to a horseless carriage rather than a self-propelled tricycle. The first car from Benz & Cie. was the Benz Victoria built in the style of an aristocratic coach and with axle pivot steering. This exhibit is in its unrestored original condition, which makes it unique in the world.
 

Opel P 4

Power output (hp): 23 PS
Top speed (kph): 85 km/h
Production era: 1936 – 1938

Not very exciting to look at but with proven technology and efficient manufacturing technology, Opel produced the most popular German car on the market of the 1930s. The middle classes especially bought the reliable and affordable Opel P 4. Blue-collar workers were still unable to afford a car at this time.
 

IFA F 9

Power output (hp): 28 PS
Top speed (kph): 110 km/h
Production era: 1950 – 1956

The East German IFA F 9 also goes back to the pre-war DKW F 9. Production of the car was transferred from Zwickau to the former BMW factory in Eisenach in 1953. The car shown here was privately built in 1956 – a year after the end of series production – using new and used parts.
 

Borgward Isabella Cabrio

Power output (hp): 75 PS
Top speed (kph): 150 km/h
Production era: 1957 – 1959

With its dignified Isabella mid-range sedan, Borgward occupied the market niche that BMW would later claim as its own. The eventual demise of the Bremen-based manufacturer left Isabella owners distraught after a lifetime of loyalty to this relic of the German Economic Miracle. A younger generation of fans came along in the 70s and began to build a network that kept the memory of the Borgward Isabella alive.
 

Fuldamobil S-1

Power output (hp): 9,5 PS
Top speed (kph): 80 km/h
Production era: 1954 – 1955

Inventor Norbert Stevenson was commissioned by Elektromaschinenbau Fulda GmbH to design a three-wheeler which was then named the Fuldamobil. The first versions had a wooden body covered with imitation leather, though this was soon replaced by hand-beaten alloy. In 1956, the Fuldamobil was given a polyester body.

Highlights



Bei einem Besuch im PS.SPEICHER erfahren Sie spannende Geschichten, Hintergründe und Wissenswertes aus über 130 Jahren motorisierter Geschichte. Nachfolgend erhalten Sie einen kleinen Einblick in die Highlights unserer 350 zwei-, drei- und vierrädrigen Fahrzeuge der Dauerausstellung.
 

Hildebrand & Wolfmüller

Leistung: 2,5 PS
V-max: 40 km/h
Bauzeit: 1894 – 1896

Die Hildebrand & Wolfmüller ist das erste zweirädrige motorisierte Fahrzeug, das als „Motorrad“ bezeichnet wird. Auch Serienfertigung und Luftbereifung hatte es bei motorisierten Einspurern zuvor noch nicht gegeben. Das Antriebskonzept mit direkter Kraftübertragung auf das Hinterrad durch die Pleuelstange erinnert an Dampfmaschinen und Lokomotiven. Ihre Unzuverlässigkeit und die große Brandgefahr verhinderten den Markterfolg der Hildebrand & Wolfmüller.
 

Victoria KR I

Leistung: 6,5 PS
V-max: 80 km/h
Bauzeit: 1921 – 1922

Victoria hatte im Ersten Weltkrieg in großen Mengen Fahrräder für das Militär hergestellt. Ab 1919 baute das Unternehmen Motorräder. Gestalterisch hatte die Victoria KR I das britische Motorrad Douglas zum Vorbild. Gute Qualität und der hochwertige BMW-Motor sicherten Victoria schnell einen festen Platz im hart umkämpften Motorradmarkt.
 

Triumph B 254

Leistung: 8,5 PS
V-max: 90 km/h
Bauzeit: 1938 – 1939

Auch Triumph musste angesichts der DKW-Patentrechte für die Umkehrspülung eigene Lösungen entwickeln, um konkurrenzfähige Zweitaktmotoren zu bauen. Die erste Maschine mit der Triumph-eigenen Querstrom-Umkehrspülung war 1936 die B 200, die – angepasst an die geänderten Führerscheinbestimmungen – 1938 zur B 254 wurde.

 

Glas Goggo 200

Leistung: 9,5 PS
V-max: 80 km/h
Bauzeit: 1952 – 1956

Der erste deutsche „Reiseroller“, der auch diese Fahrzeugsparte begründete, war der von der Landmaschinenfabrik Isaria in Dingolfing gebaute Glas „Goggo“-Roller. Mit elektrischem Starter und dem starken ILO-Motor (200 cm.) besaß der Glas Tourenqualitäten.
 

MZ Skorpion Sport

Leistung: 48 PS
V-max: 175 km/h
Bauzeit: 1994 – 1999

Nachdem 1992 ein Entwurf der britischen Designer Seymour und Powell die Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums erregt hatte, erschien 1994 die weniger spektakul.re Serienvariante der MZ Skorpion Sport. Der brave Yamaha-Einzylinder saß in einer sportlichen Umgebung und kämpfte mit dem Fahrzeuggewicht von mehr als 170 kg.
 

Benz Victoria

Leistung: 3 PS
V-max: 20 km/h
Bauzeit: 1893 – 1900

Der begeisterte Fahrradfahrer Carl Benz, der für seinen Patent-Motorwagen Fahrgestellkomponenten und Fertigungstechnologie aus dem Fahrradbau übernommen hatte, musste erkennen, dass die bürgerliche Kundschaft eine pferdelose Kutsche und kein selbstfahrendes Tricycle wünschte. Im Stil vornehmer Kutschen entstand die Benz Victoria als erstes Fahrzeug von Benz & Cie. mit Achsschenkellenkung. Das Exponat befindet sich in unrestauriertem Originalzustand und ist damit weltweit einmalig.
 

Opel P 4

Leistung: 23 PS
V-max: 85 km/h
Bauzeit: 1936 – 1938

In der Form wenig aufregend, aber mit bewährter Technik und effizienter Fertigungstechnologie hatte Opel in den 1930er Jahren das „volkstümlichste“ deutsche Automobil auf den Markt gebracht. Vor allem die Mittelschicht kaufte den zuverlässigen und erschwinglichen Opel P 4. Arbeiter besaßen zu dieser Zeit noch kein Auto.
 

IFA F 9

Leistung: 28 PS
V-max: 110 km/h
Bauzeit: 1950 – 1956

Auch der ostdeutsche IFA F 9 geht auf die DKW-Vorkriegsentwicklung DKW F 9 zurück. Die Produktion des Wagens wurde 1953 von Zwickau in das ehemalige BMW-Werk Eisenach verlegt. Der gezeigte Wagen entstand 1956 – ein Jahr nach Produktionsende – durch privaten Einsatz aus neuen und gebrauchten Bauteilen.
 

Borgward Isabella Cabrio

Leistung: 75 PS
V-max: 150 km/h
Bauzeit: 1957 – 1959

Borgward besetzte mit der gediegenen Mittelklasselimousine Isabella die Marktnische, in der sich später BMW etablieren sollte. Der Konkurs von Borgward hinterließ verstörte Isabella-Freunde, die ihrem wirtschaftswunderlichen Auto ein Leben lang die Treue hielten. Jüngere Fans stießen in den 70er Jahren dazu und begannen ein Netzwerk aufzubauen, das die Bremer Autos bis heute im Gedächtnis und am Leben hält.
 

Fuldamobil S-1

Leistung: 9,5 PS
V-max: 80 km/h
Bauzeit: 1954 – 1955

Für die Elektromaschinenbau Fulda GmbH entwickelte der Tüftler Norbert Stevenson das dreirädrige Fuldamobil. Die ersten Varianten besaßen einen mit Kunstleder bespannten Holzaufbau, der bald durch gehämmertes Leichtmetall ersetzt wurde. 1956 erhielt das Fuldamobil eine Polyesterkarosserie.