Störy in southern Lower Saxony is a small village like many others – except that, for more than 40 years, it played a special role in the automotive scene as home to Europe’s largest collection of compact and micro cars. In 1974, local farmer Otto Künnecke, his wife Marianne and master automotive engineer Karl-Heinz Klinke began collecting small cars of the post-war years. The biennial international rally in Störy for owners of compact cars spread the fame of the museum, winning friends and admirers around the world.
The collection was initially restricted to small cars built after 1945 with a maximum engine size of 750cc. It was later expanded to include popular two-wheelers from the post-1945 era with an engine capacity of up to 250cc. After the reunification of Germany, the Künneckes began adding vehicles built in the former GDR and mementos of everyday life behind the Iron Curtain, thereby considerably enhancing the appeal of the collection.
In 2004, however, the local authorities in Hildesheim forced the closure of the museum.
A new opportunity presented itself in 2012 when the Künnecke family entered into a partnership with Kulturstiftung Kornhaus. With the opening of PS.SPEICHER, this unique collection has been retained as an asset to southern Lower Saxony and has once again become accessible to the general public.